Skip to main content

Napoliello - British Authors: Databases

Best Bets

Why should I use databases?

Database Search Tips

When you are not at school, Databases require passwords.

This link will provide access to the passwords.  You must sign in to your FCPS gmail account in order to view the document.

  • Databases cannot be searched with a full sentence like Google. You have to take your topic, boil it down to its bare bones, and then use those keywords to conduct your search. If your search requires more words than that, use the Advanced Search.
  • Use quotation marks around full names or phrases to narrow your search.
  • Use the search limit fields to focus your search.

Databases 

  • Paid for by the library.  
  • Cannot be searched in Google.
  • Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
  • Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

  • Access is free.  No one is paying for the content.
  • Anyone can publish a website.  The information included might not verified by anyone.
  • Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
  • Must examine with a critical eye!

Databases make citing sources as easy as possible:

  • Most library databases include a citation tool for articles & resources.
Loading ...

EBSCO Search Tips

The EBSCO databases have some great articles, but there are several things you need to know.

1. After you do a search, ALWAYS click "limit to full text" on the left hand side. This removes any articles they only provide an abstract for.

 

2. For some articles, you have to open a PDF file to read it. Look in the upper left corner.

3. Citations are available on the right-hand side of an article page under this icon. Mare sure you scroll to the correct citation style - MLA.