Skip to main content

Global Citizen Goals: Peace, Justice, & Strong Institutions

Peace, Justice, & Strong Institutions

Database Search Tips

When you are not at school, Databases require passwords.

This link will provide access to the passwords.  You must sign in to your FCPS gmail account in order to view the document.

  • Databases cannot be searched with a full sentence like Google. You need to break your search down into 1 - 2 word ideas. If your search requires more words than that, use the Advanced Search.
  • Use quotation marks around full names or phrases to narrow your search.
  • Use the search limit fields to focus your search.

Databases 

  • Paid for by the library.  
  • Cannot be searched in Google.
  • Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
  • Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

  • Access is free.  No one is paying for the content.
  • Anyone can publish a website.  The information included might not verified by anyone.
  • Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
  • Must examine with a critical eye!

Databases make citing sources as easy as possible:

Most library databases include a citation tool for articles & resources.

Loading ...

Starter Databases

Deep Research

Rights (Jose)

Questions to Answer

Questions you need to know for your project:

     1. Define and explain your problem

     2. What causes your problem?

     3. How does it affect people, animals, or the Earth?

     4. What should we do to help fix the problem?

Books in the FCHS Library