Falls Church High School Library: Science Fair: Databases

Best Bets

Best Databases for All:

Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
General news databases that provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, magazines, radio and TV broadcasts, transcripts, and images.
eBook High School Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text titles for High School students in fiction and non-fiction. See box on right for tips on use. --->

Be aware that this database is an AP-level databases.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos. See box on right for tips on use. --->

Subject-specific Databases

Environmental Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues,, such as earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Provides essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides STEM students and researchers with the resources they need in a wide range of topics. See box on right for tips on use. --->

When you are not at school, databases require passwords.

The EBSCO databases have some great articles, but there are several things you need to know.

1. After you do a search, ALWAYS click "online full text" on the top of the list. This removes any articles they only provide an abstract for.

Select "online full text" to remove abstracts

2. Click on "Access options" to view the article. Some articles are available "Online full text," and some are only available as a PDF.

3. Citations are available when you click on the quotation mark.

Make sure you scroll to the correct citation style - MLA or APA (depending on your class).